Tuesday, December 5, 2023

College of Supply Chain Management

Mission Statement

The College of Supply Chain Management is a special interest group of POMS that seeks to create a community for researchers in supply chain management. The college embraces the full spectrum of research paradigms including modeling, empirical and field-based work and facilitates close interaction between academics and practitioners through focused conferences.

Board Members

President: Ravi Anupindi, Stephen M. Ross School of Business, University of Michigan
Past President: Nicole DeHoratius, The University of Chicago Booth School of Business
Vice President - Communications: Dorothee Honhon, Naveen Jindal School of Management, University of Texas at Dallas
Vice President - Meetings: Kyle Cattani, Kelly School, Indiana University
Vice President - Special Events: John Gray, Fisher College, Ohio State University
Secretary: Chris Parker, Smeal College of Business at Pennsylvania State University
Treasurer: Nitin Bakshi, London Business School

If you wish to join our LinkedIn group, please contact us at www.linkedin.com/groups?home=&gid=8106962&trk=anet_ug_hm

Supply Chain Management


2014 Student Paper Competition

Jul 09 2015

 The College of Supply Chain Management is pleased to announce the winners of the 2014 Student Paper Competition.

  • First Place: Simone Marinesi, INSEAD, “The Operational Advantages of Threshold Discounting Offers” (Advisor: Karan Girotra)
  • Second Place: Liying Mu, University of Texas at Dallas, “Milking the Quality Test: Improving the Milk Supply Chain under Competing Collection Intermediaries” (Advisors: Milind Dawande and Vijay Mookerjee)
  • Honorable Mention: Ruomeng Cui, Northwestern University, “Information sharing in supply chains: An empirical and theoretical valuation” (Advisor: Jan van Mieghem) and Joel Goh, Stanford University, “Multi-Echelon Inventory Management with Short Term Commitment” (Advisor: Evan L. Porteus).

The College of Supply Chain Management of the Production and Operations Management Society (POMS) announces its 2014 Best Student Paper Competition. Each submitted paper will be judged based on its contribution towards the advancement of theory and practice of supply chain management. The first prize is accompanied by a $500 honorarium and the second prize is accompanied by a $250 honorarium. Between three and six finalists will be chosen, and they will be invited to present their paper in a special session at the 2014 Annual POMS conference in Atlanta, May 9-12, 2014. Presentation quality will also be taken into account to decide the first and second prize winners. Each finalist will be awarded up to $500 of travel support and complementary conference registration for the 2014 Annual POMS conference. All prizes will be awarded during the conference at the POMS Supply Chain Management College Meeting.

Click here for more details.


Winners for the SCM College Student Paper Competition 2013

  • First Place ($1000 prize): Nitish Jain, INSEAD, “Managing Global Sourcing: Inventory Performance”
  • Second Place ($750 prize): Wei Luo, Duke University, “Integrating Inventory Replenishment and Cash Payment Decisions in Supply Chains”
  • Honorable Mention ($500 each):
    • Tinglong Dai, Carnegie Mellon University, “Contracting for On-Time Performance in the US Influenza Vaccine Supply Chain”
    • Soroush Saghafian, Arizona State University, “Compensating for Dynamic Disruptions with Backup Flexibility”
    • Yan Yin, University of Michigan, “The Role of Cost Modeling in Competitive Bid Procurement”


Prof Mike Fry (Chair) presents the First Prize award to Nitish Jain (left). 


Prof Mike Fry (Chair) presents the Second Prize award to Wei Luo (right).


Winners of Past Student Paper Competitions

  • Click here to download Presentation of "Student Paper Competition 2012" by the Competition Chair, Professor Gal Raz

  • Winners of Student Paper Competition 2011



    Prof Sosic (Chair) presents the First Prize award to Robert Bray (Stanford). Winning paper: “Information Transmission and the Bullwhip Effect, An Empirical Investigation” by Robert Bray and Haim Mendelson.


    Prof Sosic (Chair) presents the Second Prize award to Mazhar Arikan (Purdue). Winning paper: “Building Reliable Air-Travel Infrastructure Using Empirical Data and Stochastic Models of Airline Networks” by Mazhar Arikan and Vinayak Deshpande.

  • Winners of Student Paper Competition 2010
    • First Place: Wenjie Tang, “Synchronizing Global Supply Chains: Advance Purchase Discounts”
    • Runners-Up: Brent Moritz, “Cognition and Individual Differences in the Newsvendor Problem: Behavior Under Dual Process Theory”


      Tharanga Rajapakshe, “Designing Dedicated Transportation Subnetworks: Deadheading vs. Lane Sharing”

Total: 0 Comment(s)