Monday, December 4, 2023


As a leading professional society in the field of production and operations management, POMS has a responsibility to influence and discern outstanding research, teaching, service and practice accomplishments. Many people contribute to these accomplishments and POMS recognizes these contributions through the following awards.

The POMS Fellows Award, the highest award that POMS bestows on its members, is intended to recognize POMS members who have made exceptional intellectual contributions to our profession and Society through their research and teaching.

The Martin K. Starr Excellence in Production and Operations Management Practice Award is given to recognize outstanding contributions by POM practitioners for making advances in the practice of POM, promoting the profession, producing exceptional impacts, and building a linkage between industry and academics.

The Sushil K. Gupta Distinguished POMS Service Award is given to recognize outstanding service to POMS.

The Wickham Skinner Awards are intended to encourage POM scholarship and publication, to promote significant research in the field, to reward academics who have achieved unusually high accomplishment early in their careers, and to facilitate sharing of innovative new ideas about teaching POM.

The Emerging Economies Doctoral Student Award (EEDSA) has been created to establish institutional linkages to future scholars in emerging economies, and to encourage their development and connection to the Production and Operations Management Society.

Distinguished Lecturer Award is given to a highly visible individual in our profession to deliver a distinguished keynote speech at one of our international conferences. Recipients share knowledge and leading thoughts globally which promotes and supports our international chapters and affiliated societies.



Martin K. Starr Excellence in Production and Operations Management Practice Award

Jul 09 2015


The Production and Operations Management Society (POMS) has instituted the Martin K. Starr Excellence in Production and Operations Management Practice Award to recognize contributions made to the field of Production and Operations Management (POM) by POM practitioners. It is an international award and is open to all POM practitioners from around the world.

The POMS’ Board in its annual meeting held on April 28, 2006 in Boston, U.S.A., unanimously approved that the award be named after Dr. Martin K. Starr. The POMS’ Board in its deliberations noted that Dr. Starr has contributed to POMS and its activities since its inception and has been a constant source of guidance and inspiration to POMS. Naming this award after him is indeed a great recognition of his services to the POM profession in general and the POM Society in particular.

The first twelve recipients of the award, who are among the most esteemed members of the POM field, are:
   2016: Dr. Russell Allgor
   2015: Mr. Pier Luigi Sigismondi 
   2014: Mr. Josue Gomes da Silva
   2014: Dr. Dean Bartles
   2013: Mr. Thomas Debrowski
   2012: Dr. Gang Yu
   2011: Mr. Edwin Keh
   2010: Dr. Krishan Kumar
   2009: Ms. Erin J. Wallace
   2008: Dr. Dino Petrarolo
   2007: Dr. Corey A. Billington
   2006: Mr. Lee Cockerell

We are now seeking nominations for the eleventh award which will be presented during the twenty sixth annual POMS’ conference to be held in Washington, D.C., U.S.A., from May 8 – May 11, 2015.

The award is for an "individual" and not for the "organization". The award is open to professionals at all levels working in the Operations Management area in service and manufacturing industries; as well as in not-for-profit and government organizations.

The award is based on exceptional quality of contribution to the POM field. These contributions are not restricted to a single organization and may span time spent at several organizations during the career of the candidate. The cumulative contributions made by the candidate during his/her career will be the basis of the evaluation by the committee.

In addition to receiving an attractive plaque, the award recipient will be prominently featured in the POMS Chronicle and POMS Web Page. The award ceremony includes a full description of the contributions of the award winner who is encouraged to respond briefly.

Dr. Dino Petrarolo is chairing the award’s committee this year. Please send your nominations to Dr. Petraolo at with a copy to Sushil Gupta, Executive Director – POMS at by November 31, 2014. The nomination should include a resume of the candidate and a narrative, not to exceed two pages, of the contributions to POM during the career of the candidate. Visit POMS website to get more information about this award and the Conference in Washington, D.C.

The committee for this year’s award consists of the following:

  • Martin K. Starr, Emeritus Professor, Rollins College, Winter Park, Florida, U.S.A, and Emeritus Professor, Columbia University, New York, U.S.A.
  • Dino Petrarolo (Chair), Senior Vice President, Competitive Capabilities Int., South Africa.
  • Thomas Debrowski Executive Vice President, Worldwide Operations, Mattel, Inc. (Retired).
  • Henrique Correa, Professor, Rollins College, Winter Park, Florida, U.S.A.
  • Norma Harrison, Professor, Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia.
  • Norman Faull, Emeritus Professor, University of Cape Town, Cape Town, South Africa.

Total: 0 Comment(s)