Tuesday, December 5, 2023


As a leading professional society in the field of production and operations management, POMS has a responsibility to influence and discern outstanding research, teaching, service and practice accomplishments. Many people contribute to these accomplishments and POMS recognizes these contributions through the following awards.

The POMS Fellows Award, the highest award that POMS bestows on its members, is intended to recognize POMS members who have made exceptional intellectual contributions to our profession and Society through their research and teaching.

The Martin K. Starr Excellence in Production and Operations Management Practice Award is given to recognize outstanding contributions by POM practitioners for making advances in the practice of POM, promoting the profession, producing exceptional impacts, and building a linkage between industry and academics.

The Sushil K. Gupta Distinguished POMS Service Award is given to recognize outstanding service to POMS.

The Wickham Skinner Awards are intended to encourage POM scholarship and publication, to promote significant research in the field, to reward academics who have achieved unusually high accomplishment early in their careers, and to facilitate sharing of innovative new ideas about teaching POM.

The Emerging Economies Doctoral Student Award (EEDSA) has been created to establish institutional linkages to future scholars in emerging economies, and to encourage their development and connection to the Production and Operations Management Society.

Distinguished Lecturer Award is given to a highly visible individual in our profession to deliver a distinguished keynote speech at one of our international conferences. Recipients share knowledge and leading thoughts globally which promotes and supports our international chapters and affiliated societies.



Past Wickham Skinner Winners: Teaching Innovation Awards

Jul 09 2015

The purpose of this award is to recognize impact and innovation in Production and Operations Management instruction. In their evaluation of the materials submitted, the judges give primary attention to: (1) evidence of pedagogical excellence, (2) evidence of creativity and/or innovation and (3) evidence of impact.

The affiliations of the winners listed below were at the time of winning the award. The hyper-link provided in the name of the winner points to her/his current affiliation.

2016: James Hill, Ohio State University, USA
2015: Mike Gorman, University of Dayton, Dayton, Ohio, U.S.A.
2014: Rogelio Oliva, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas, U.S.A.
2013: Natalie Simpson, School of Management, University at Buffalo, New York, U.S.A.
2012: Michael G. Hasler, McCombs School of Business, University of Texas at Austin, Austin, Texas, U.S.A.
2011: Hau Lee, Stanford University, Stanford, California, U.S.A.
2010: Rolando Tomasini and Luk Van Wassenhove, INSEAD, Fontainbleau, France. (Citation)
2009: Robert D.Klassen, Ivey Business School, University of Western Ontario, London, Ontario, Canada.
2008: Kyle Cattani, Kelley School of Business, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN, U.S.A. 
2007: Andy A. Tsay, Leavey School of Business at Santa Clara University, Santa Clara, CA, U.S.A.
2004: Samuel C. Wood and Sunil Kumar, Responsive Learning Technologies, Los Altos, CA, U.S.A. (Winners).
2004: Sharon A. Johnson & Amy Z. Zeng, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Worcester, MA, U.S.A. (Runners up).
2003: Vidyaranya B. Gargeya, Joseph M. Bryan School of Business and Economics, University of North Carolina at Greensboro, Greensboro, NC, U.S.A.
2003: Kristie Seawright, Brigham Young University, Provo, UT, U.S.A.(honorable mention).
2002: Sanjay Ahire, The Darla Moore School of Business, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC, U.S.A.
2002: Avraham Shtub, William Davidson Faculty of Industrial Engineering and Management, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Technion City, Haifa, Israel.
2001: Jose Antonio Dominguez Machuca, Departamento de Economía Financiera y Dirección de Operaciones Facultad de Ciencias Económicas y Empresariales, Universidad de Sevilla, Sevilla, Spain.

Total: 0 Comment(s)