Tuesday, December 5, 2023


As a leading professional society in the field of production and operations management, POMS has a responsibility to influence and discern outstanding research, teaching, service and practice accomplishments. Many people contribute to these accomplishments and POMS recognizes these contributions through the following awards.

The POMS Fellows Award, the highest award that POMS bestows on its members, is intended to recognize POMS members who have made exceptional intellectual contributions to our profession and Society through their research and teaching.

The Martin K. Starr Excellence in Production and Operations Management Practice Award is given to recognize outstanding contributions by POM practitioners for making advances in the practice of POM, promoting the profession, producing exceptional impacts, and building a linkage between industry and academics.

The Sushil K. Gupta Distinguished POMS Service Award is given to recognize outstanding service to POMS.

The Wickham Skinner Awards are intended to encourage POM scholarship and publication, to promote significant research in the field, to reward academics who have achieved unusually high accomplishment early in their careers, and to facilitate sharing of innovative new ideas about teaching POM.

The Emerging Economies Doctoral Student Award (EEDSA) has been created to establish institutional linkages to future scholars in emerging economies, and to encourage their development and connection to the Production and Operations Management Society.

Distinguished Lecturer Award is given to a highly visible individual in our profession to deliver a distinguished keynote speech at one of our international conferences. Recipients share knowledge and leading thoughts globally which promotes and supports our international chapters and affiliated societies.



Past Wickham Skinner Winners: Early-Career Research Accomplishments Awards

Jul 09 2015

An “Early‐Career Researcher” is defined as someone who has received a doctoral degree (or its equivalent outside of the U.S.A.) within the previous six years. Work published (or formally accepted for publication) or presented at a conference within the six‐year eligibility period is considered in the evaluation process if properly documented. The judges evaluate the impact of the body of work in terms of its ability to broaden, extend, and alter the way that POM is conceptualized, practiced, and viewed.

The affiliations of the winners listed below were at the time of winning the award. The hyper-link provided in the name of the winner points to her/his current affiliation.
2015: Guoming Lai, McCombs School of Business, University of Texas, Austin, TX, U.S.A. (Winner).
2015: Soo-Haeng Cho, Tepper School of Business, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA, U.S.A. (Runner up).
2014: Karan Girotra, INSEAD, Boulevard de Constance, 77305 Fontainebleau, France (Winner).
2013: Bradley Staats, Kenan-Flagler Business School, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC, U.S.A. (Winner).
2012: Atalay Atasu, Scheller College of Business, Georgia Tech, Atlanta, GA, U.S.A. (Winner).
2012: Annabelle Feng, Krannert School of Management, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN, U.S.A. (Winner).
2011: Gad Allon, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, U.S.A. (Winner).
2010: No Awards
2009: Fuqiang Zhang, Olin Business School, Washington University, St. Louis, MO, U.S.A. (Winner).
2009: Mahesh Nagarajan, Sauder School of Business, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada (Runner up).
2008: Xuanming Su, Haas School of Business, University of California at Berkeley, Berkeley, CA, U.S.A.
2007: Justin Ren, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.
2007: Rachna Shah, Carlson School of Management, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN, U.S.A.
2006: Vishal Gaur, The Stern School of Business, New York University, New York, NY, U.S.A.
2005: Terry Taylor, Graduate School of Business, University of Columbia, New York, NY, U.S.A.
2005: Metin Cakanyildirim, School of Management, The University of Texas at Dallas, Richardson, TX, U.S.A.
2005: Serguei Netessine, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.
2004: Gilvan C. Souza, Robert H. Smith School of Business, University of Maryland, College Park, MD, U.S.A.
2004: Ozalp Ozer, School of Management Science and Engineering, Stanford University, Stanford, CA, U.S.A.
2003: Geoffrey Parker, A.B. Freeman School of Business, Tulane University, New Orleans, LA, U.S.A.
2002: Edward Anderson, McCombs School of Business, University of Texas at Austin, Austin, TX, U.S.A.
2001: Ram Ganeshan, Mason School of Business, The College of William and Mary, Williamsburg, VA, U.S.A.
2001: Rohit Verma, David Eccles School of Business, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT, U.S.A.

Total: 0 Comment(s)