Tuesday, December 5, 2023


As a leading professional society in the field of production and operations management, POMS has a responsibility to influence and discern outstanding research, teaching, service and practice accomplishments. Many people contribute to these accomplishments and POMS recognizes these contributions through the following awards.

The POMS Fellows Award, the highest award that POMS bestows on its members, is intended to recognize POMS members who have made exceptional intellectual contributions to our profession and Society through their research and teaching.

The Martin K. Starr Excellence in Production and Operations Management Practice Award is given to recognize outstanding contributions by POM practitioners for making advances in the practice of POM, promoting the profession, producing exceptional impacts, and building a linkage between industry and academics.

The Sushil K. Gupta Distinguished POMS Service Award is given to recognize outstanding service to POMS.

The Wickham Skinner Awards are intended to encourage POM scholarship and publication, to promote significant research in the field, to reward academics who have achieved unusually high accomplishment early in their careers, and to facilitate sharing of innovative new ideas about teaching POM.

The Emerging Economies Doctoral Student Award (EEDSA) has been created to establish institutional linkages to future scholars in emerging economies, and to encourage their development and connection to the Production and Operations Management Society.

Distinguished Lecturer Award is given to a highly visible individual in our profession to deliver a distinguished keynote speech at one of our international conferences. Recipients share knowledge and leading thoughts globally which promotes and supports our international chapters and affiliated societies.



Paul Kleindorfer Award in Sustainability

Jul 09 2015

2017: Call for Nominations

The Production and Operations Management Society (POMS) approved the Paul Kleindorfer Award in Sustainability in its meeting held on November 18, 2011 in Boston, U.S.A. The award is instituted to recognize young scholars who have already distinguished themselves through the breadth and innovativeness of their scholarly work on questions related to sustainable operations and the social and environmental impact of business.

Nominations including self nominations are invited for the Paul Kleindorfer Award in Sustainability. Read the announcement for more details.


Past Winners

   2016: Vishal Agrawal, Georgetown University, USA
   2015: Prof. Anton Ovchinnikov, Queen's School of Business
   2014: Michael Galbreth, University of South Carolina.
   2013: Atalay Atasu, Scheller College of Business, Georgia Institute of Technology, and Michael W. Toffel, Harvard Business School.
   2012: Ravi Subramanian, Scheller College of Business, Georgia Institute of Technology.

Total: 0 Comment(s)